MY FIRST BLOG EVENT: FOOD-O-GRAFIE

I STUMBLED OVER ONE OF THE FIRST FOOD BLOGS KOCHTOPF AS I WAS GOING THROUGH SOME COMMENTS ON THE DECOR8 PAGE. I LOVE READING  AND GETTING TIPS FROM OTHER BLOGGERS BECAUSE I AM SUCH A ROOKIE, SO I SPEND A GREAT AMOUNT OF TIME {RE}SEARCHING SITES LIKE THESE. I WOULD LIKE TO PARTICIPATE IN THIS EVENT, AS I BELIEVE THAT NO MAN IS AN ISLAND AND BLOGGERS CAN HELP EACH OTHER A LOT BY SHARING THEIR EXPERIENCE. PHOTOGRAPHY HAS BECOME A HUGE PART OF BLOGGING, IN THIS FAST-PACED WORLD IMAGES NEED TO CONVINCE READERS! I AM SO PASSIONATE ABOUT FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY {MAYBE EVEN MORE THAN WITH RECIPIES}, BUT BEFORE I SHARE MY EXPERIENCE WITH FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY, I’D LIKE TO SHOW YOU SOME IMAGES FIRST.  THE REASON WHY I CHANGED FROM NIKON TO CANON? YOU CAN READ IT IN  MY CAMERA CHRONOLOGIES LATER ON…

THESE WERE MY VERY FIRST EXPERIMENTS WITH FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY {IN 2011}, TAKEN WITH THE NIKON D3000 & THE 18-55 LENS:
PASSION AND OBSESSION FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY
PASSION AND OBSESSION FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY
PASSION AND OBSESSION FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY
PASSION AND OBSESSION FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY
AS YOU CAN SEE, I WAS SHOOTING DURING THE ‘BLUE HOUR’ AND DIDN’T  KNOW A THING ABOUT WHITE BALANCE.

THESE IMAGES WERE TAKEN IN 2013, WITH THE CANON 5D MARK II & EF 50MM, 1:1,4 LENS:
PASSION AND OBSESSION FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY
PASSION AND OBSESSION FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY

I WAS 15YRS OLD WHEN I GOT MY FIRST SLR. IT WAS A CANON AND I TOOK IT ALMOST EVERYWHERE I WENT. AFTER 2YRS OF CONSISTENT USING IT BROKE. I WAS 17 THEN AND WAS PREPARING TO GO ABROAD. FOR MY TRAVELS I WANTED A SMALL AND LIGHT CAMERA, SO I GOT ANOTHER CANON – A SIMPLE DIGITAL CAMERA. IT WAS A GOOD AND RELIABLE CAMERA, BUT IT ALSO BROKE AFTER 4 OR 5 YRS OF USING. MONTHS TURNED INTO YEARS AND I HAVEN’T BEEN WORKING ON MY PHOTOGRAPHY FOREVER! FINALLY,  IN 2011 I LAUNCHED MY ONLINE SHOP AND NEEDED A NEW CAMERA FOR MY PRODUCT PHOTOGRAPHY. I TURNED TO A NIKON D3000 WITH A 18-55 LENS BECAUSE IT SEEMED TO BE ONE OF THE BEST CAMERAS ON THE MARKET FOR UNDER 500€. NOT A YEAR PASSED BY AND I FELT LIMITED WITH THE OPTIONS THE CAMERA OFFERED ME. I FELT LIKE 15YRS OLD AND WAS EXPLORING PHOTOGRAPHY AGAIN. THE NIKON D3000 WAS FINE FOR MY PRODUCT SHOOTINGS, BUT I WAS ALSO VERY INTERESTED IN PEOPLE- AND FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY AND STARTED RESEARCHING – AGAIN. I WAS REMINDED, THAT CANONS DID A GOOD JOB FOR ME IN THE PAST AND EVERYWHERE I LOOKED THE CANON 5D MARK II WAS MENTIONED… MOST OF MY FAVORITE PHOTOGRAPHERS WERE USING THIS CAMERA. MY LIFE CHANGED THE DAY I HELD THE CANON 5D MARK II IN MY HANDS. I NEVER IMAGINED THERE WOULD BE SUCH A BIG DIFFERENCE, BUT I SIMPLY LOVE THE WAY IT FEELS IN MY HANDS! SO HERE WE ARE: THE CANON 5D MARK II & THE CANON EF LENS 50MM, 1:1,4 MOVED IN WITH ME IN SUMMER 2012 AND I DIDN’T REGRET IT EVER SINCE! MOST OF THE TIME I USE DAYLIGHT {& MY KITCHEN TABLE} AS A SET FOR MY IMAGES. I USE DIFFERENT SHEETS OF PAPER AS A BACKGROUND. I HAVE A GREAT AMOUNT OF ANTIQUE TABLE CLOTHS AND TABLEWARE I HAVEN’T BEEN USING {YET!!!}, BECAUSE: BEFORE I CAN DESIGN A SET, THE FOOD IS ALREADY GONE! SINCE I AM NOT A POOR EATER I HAVE BEEN PRACTICING A LOT AND MY IMAGES GOT SLIGHTLY BETTER… I DON’T KNOW IF IT’S THE CAMERA OR LOTS OF PATIENCE, LOVE FOR PHOTOGRAPHY, EXPERIMENTING AND PRACTICE, BUT SINCE 2012  I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO WORK WITH AN AMAZING RESTAURANT IN DORTMUND, KITCHEN CLUB, WHERE SOME OF MY IMAGES ARE DISPLAYED NOW. SO HERE IS A PORTRAIT OF MY FAVORITE CAMERA:
Canon 5d Mark 2

I ALSO LOVE TO USE INSTAGRAM, TO ME IT’S LIKE A JOURNAL AND THIS WAY SPECIAL MOMENTS DON’T GET LOST:

PASSION AND OBSESSION STILZITAT INSTAGRAM

3 thoughts on “MY FIRST BLOG EVENT: FOOD-O-GRAFIE

Leave a Reply

